Merit Awards Program

2013 Merit Award Winners


The Magnet Schools of Merit Award recognizes member magnet schools/programs that demonstrate a high commitment to academic standards, curriculum innovation, desegregation/diversity efforts, specialized teaching staffs, and parent and community involvement.

There are two categories of awards: (1) Magnet Schools of Excellence, the top category, is awarded to a group of select magnet schools, and (2) Magnet Schools of Distinction, the second highest award of recognition. Member schools submit an application that is scored by a panel of educators, with specific cash awards provided to the top Magnet Schools of Excellence. These include:

The Dr. Ronald P. Simpson Distinguished Merit Awards, considered the TOP award for magnet schools in the nation, is given to only one school in the Magnet School of Excellence category. The award recognizes the work of Dr. Ronald P. Simpson, one of the founding Members of the Magnet Schools of America (MSA). Dr. Simpson, from Kansas City, Missouri Public School System, served as the second president from 1994-1995. Dr. Simpson made a positive impact on magnet schools, and this award was established to commemorate his outstanding contributions to Magnet Schools of America. The Dr.Ronald P. Simpson Distinguished Merit Award includes a $5,000 cash award presented to the winning school.

In 2006, Magnet Schools of America established two new awards for elementary and secondary Magnet Schools of Excellence, both with a cash award of $2,500. The elementary Magnet Schools of Excellence award is sponsored by Magnet Schools of America, and named after Dr. Donald Waldrip, founder and MSA's first Executive Director.

Also established in 2006, is the Hogan Lovells Award to recognize New and Emerging Magnet Schools of Merit from the Schools of Excellence category. Recognized nationally for its leadership and commitment to magnet schools across the nation, the Washington, D.C. Law Firm of Hogan Lovells is the sponsor of a $1,000 cash award.

Magnet Schools of America would like to thank all schools who participated in this years competitive program. Congratulations to the class of 2013!  For a listing of the 2013 Schools of Excellence and Distinction, see below.

2013 Schools of Excellence

2013 Schools of Distinction


Merit Banner Sample

Online Order Form