2014 National Magnet School
Principal of the Year

Coral Reef Senior High School

Miami, Florida

Miami-Dade County Public Schools

Magnet Schools of America (MSA) is pleased to announce that Adrianne Leal from Coral Reef Senior High School in Miami, Florida is the 2014 National Principal of the Year. Adrianne was selected from MSA’s eight national regions through a competitive application process. The award was announced during the Magnet Schools of America’s 32nd National Conference in Hartford, CT.

The National Magnet School Principal of the Year is acknowledged by their peers for their exemplary contributions made to their profession and has demonstrated excellence in the following four areas: promoting equity and diversity among students and staff within their magnet school; providing equitable academic success for all students; leadership implementing and sustaining an innovative magnet program; and evidence of leadership within their school district and the magnet community. 

“Being selected as the National Principal of-the-Year is a tremendous honor and accomplishment,” said Magnet Schools of America Executive Director, Scott Thomas. “Adrianne is very deserving of this award and was selected from a group of very talented and dedicated magnet school principals. Her school offers many challenging academic programs that provide students with the necessary knowledge, skills and opportunities they will need to succeed in life.”

Adrianne Leal has been the principal of Coral Reef Senior High School in Miami, Florida for the last ten years. Her school is known as Miami's “mega magnet” and features six unique magnet academies. Her leadership and philosophy is evident through the success of her students. Coral Reef graduates 99 percent of its students who overwhelmingly transition to post-secondary education. The school received national recognition by the College Board for having the largest number of African American and Hispanic students succeeding in Advanced Placement classes. Last year alone, Coral Reef administered 3,900 Advanced Placement (AP) exams with a 57% passing rate. In 2013, the school was ranked number 13 in U.S. News and World Report’s Best High Schools. 

Magnet Schools of America would like to thank all the candidates who applied for an award this year and congratulates all the 2014 Regional Winners!

Region I  (CT, ME, MA, NH, NJ,NY, RI, VT)
Matt Folan
University High School of Science and Engineering
Hartford Public Schools
Hartford, CT
Theme(s): STEM & Early College

Region II  (DE, MD, OH, PA, VA, WV, DC, Int'l)
Jennifer Mullenax
Halstead Academy
Baltimore County Public Schools
Baltimore, MD
Theme(s): Arts and Science

Region III (AL, FL, GA, PR, Virgin Islands)
Adrianne Leal
Coral Reef Senior High School
Miami-Dade County Public Schools
Miami, FL
Theme(s): IB,VPA, Business, Legal, Engineering/Agriscience, Health Sciences

Region IV  (KY, NC,SC,TN)
Joseph Childers
Atkins Academic & Technology High School
Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Schools
Winston-Salem, NC
Theme(s): STEM:  Biotechnology, Health Science, Engineering, and Scientific Visualization

Region V  (AR, LA, NM, OK, MS, TX)
Phyllis Crawford
Sherwood Middle Academic Magnet
East Baton Rouge Parish Schools
Baton Rouge, LA
Theme(s): Academic

Region VI  (IL, IN, MI, MN, IA, WI)
Susan Powell
Garlough Environmental Magnet School
ISD 197
West St Paul, MN
Theme(s): Environment

Region VIII  (AK, AZ, CA, HI, ID, NV, OR, WA, American Samoa, Marianas Islands, and Trust Territory of the Pacific)
Jillyn Pendleton
Ed W. Clark High School
Clark County School District
Las Vegas, NV
Theme(s): Academy of Math, Science, and Applied Technology, Academy of Finance, & Teacher Education Academy