MSA 2015 Principal of the Year Program

Wendy Harrison from Muller Elementary Magnet School in Tampa, Florida Named 2015 National Magnet School Principal of the Year

 At Muller Elementary Magnet School the well being of students drives all decision-making. Muller is a dual theme magnet school for the arts and environmental sciences, which serves a very diverse and economically disadvantaged K - 5-student population in urban Tampa, Florida. The arts and environmental studies are infused throughout the curriculum and natural integration to cultivate the whole child.  Muller is an eight-time Magnet Schools of America Award of Distinction or School of Excellence winner.  In 2013-2016 Muller was designated as a Model School by the Florida Alliance for Arts Education and an Exemplary School of Distinction by the Art Schools Network.  The children come first and are offered a variety of opportunities such as strings orchestra, musical theater, free ballet lessons, science clubs and much more.  We enjoy sharing thoughts and ideas with others and attending the MSA conferences to bring back new ideas to make out school be the best it can be.

It is because of this school that I was nominated and awarded the prestigious award of MSA National Principal of the Year.  A principal is only as successful as the people who surround them.  My students and staff are amazing and committed to learning.  I was overjoyed to have received the award so I could share it with my school and Hillsborough County district personnel who have also helped to make Muller Magnet school successful.  It is an honor to have been chosen as National Principal of the year and I would like to personally thank MSA for taking time to appreciate the profession of a school principal.  I gladly accept this award on behalf of all hard working Magnet principals.

Wendy Harrison (2015 National Principal of the Year!)

The National Magnet School Principal fo the Year Award was established in 2009 this award recognizes an outstanding school leader who has succeeded in providing innovative programs that promote equity, diversity, and academic excellence for students in magnet schools. This individual chosen from a group of regional principals of the year.

Congratulations to our 2015 Regional Magnet Principals of the Year:


REGION III - AL, FL, GA, PR, Virgin Islands

Wendy Harrison
Muller Elementary Magnet
Hillsborough County Public Schools, Florida
Theme(s): Arts & Environmental Science



Cheryl Holland Fenner
Fuller GT/AIG Basics Elementary
Wake County Public Schools, North Carolina
Theme(s): Gifted and Talented, Academically Intellectually Gifted



Helena Aucoin
Greta Oppe Elementary
Galveston Independent School District, Texas
Theme(s): Coastal Studies